Trinidad and Tobago

Facts of Trinidad and Tobago

Country Name Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Capital City Port-of-Spain
Country code TD
Counties Caroni, Mayaro, Nariva, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick,and Victoria
Municipalities Arima,  Port-of-Spain,and San Fernando
Ward Tobago
Nationality Trinidadian(s), Tobagonian(s)
Official Language English
Independence August 31 1962
National Holiday Independence Day, August 31 (Since 1962)
National Flower Chaconia (a.k.a. Pride of Trinidad and Tobago orWild    Poinsettia)
National Bird Trinidad-Scarlet Ibis (red)
Tobago- Cocrico (brownish)
Area Trinidad 1,864 sq. miles and  Tobago 116 sq. miles
Population 1,117,000
Ethnic groups Black, East Indian, Mixed, White, Chinese and Other
Religions Christianity, Hinduism and Islam
Government Type Republic
President Arthur N R Robinson
Prime Minister Basdeo Panday
International Airport Trinidad - Piarco International Airport
Tobago - Crown Point Internationa
Telephone Code 868
Time Zone GMT - 4 hours