Guyana's Logo

Facts of Guyana

Country Name Co-operative Republic of Guyana
Capital City Georgetown
Counties Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara
Nationality Guyanese
Official Language English
Independence May 26 1966
National Holiday Republic Day, February 23 (Since 1970)
National Bird Hoatzin or the Canje Pheasant (Opisthocomus hoatzin)
National Flower Victoria Regia/Amazonica
Area 83,000 sq. mi. (215,000 sq. km)
Population 750,000
Ethnic groups East Indian, Black, Amerindian, Portuguese and Chinese
Religions Christianity, Hinduism and Islam
Government Type Republic
Executive President Bharrat Jagdeo
Prime Minister Samuel A. Hinds
International Airport Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehr
Time Zone GMT - 4 hours